Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,


What is faith?

Let me first list a few Bible verses before I begin to tell you about the lessons I have learnt about FAITH. Why the Bible? Because: Romans 10:17 says :

Consequently, faith comes from hearing the message, and the message is heard through the word of Christ (i.e., the Bible).

If the Word of Christ is the Bible and faith only comes from it, then it has the only true definition of faith. Guess what? Faith is perfectly defined in the Bible. Here goes (from the Amplified):

Hebrews 11:1 -NOW FAITH is the assurance (the confirmation, [a]the title deed) of the things [we] hope for, being the proof of things [we] do not see and the conviction of their reality [faith perceiving as real fact what is not revealed to the senses].

So we HOPE for that which is UNSEEN, i.e., believe the impossible. Wow! This includes the job I thought I could never have, the accomplishment of tasks yourself and people couldn’t believe you could do, the fulfillment of promises that are too difficult to materilise and more!

How many times have people told you that you were unable or the situation cannot be helped? Sometimes we ourselves limit God when we say no its not possible (its not possible for me to be healed, to be free, to be delivered, to take a stand, to work something out, etc).

One moment, did I say LIMIT GOD?

Yes we limit God with our disbelief… Why am I saying this? Here goes:

Hebrews 11:6 But without faith it is impossible to please Him, for he who comes to God must believe that He is, and that He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him.

So we pray and pray and doubt and pray, but nothing happens because your doubt or lack of hope (i.e., lack of faith) in Him to make things good for you, displeases Him. God is hurt at your disbelief. Why?

Luke 11:11 “Which of you fathers, if your son asks for a fish, will give him a snake instead? 12Or if he asks for an egg, will give him a scorpion? 13If you then, though you are evil, know how to give good gifts to your children, how much more will your Father in heaven give the Holy Spirit to those who ask him!”

I really needed to know this for myself personally. Been going through some bad times and I was so discouraged. All I could see was distress, turmoil, persecution, abuse, loss, emptiness, loneliness, lack and nothing looked good. I was not believing the unseen, I gave up, lacked faith and most of all hurt my Father in heaven for limiting Him with my disbelief. I actually tried to do things my way. But my Father, He always teaches me and leads me the right way. He Spoke faith in me through the Holy Spirit, now all I have to do and learnt to do is rely on His Word irrespective of my circumstance. He is capable to make all things good and work all things for he good of those who love Him. Do u love Him? Do u trust Him? Is there something impossible in your life? Well taste and see that the Lord is good.

Have faith… How? Faith comes hearing (I like to consider this heeding) the Word of God.. So turn to the Bible no matter who you are, what your going through or what your past was like…

