Tags

, , , , , , , , ,


These days I find God speaking in a louder voice than usual. I am learning to trust Him more with each day. It is amazing after a long time of being very much like Jonah, He welcomed me like He did the prodigal. The best part is He didn’t say it is your time to pay for not walking according to my way. By His mercy, He restored me. I can never thank Him enough for accepting me the way I am. Now I know, no matter what the loss and even if the ground be shaken under me, I will trust in Him.

In the undergoing theme of what God is speaking to me, this Sunday, the pastor at the church I attend, Pastor Ralph, a very good teacher and fine leader spoke on a topic: These shoes will make it. At first I did not understand the relevance of his theme. But as he spoke it became clear to me. So as I was blessed, so shall I bless you.

The base of the message was Psalm 37:1-10. Here goes:

Psalm 37: 1 Do not fret because of evil men or be envious of those who do wrong; 2 for like the grass they will soon wither,like green plants they will soon die away. 3 Trust in the LORD and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture. 4 Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart. 5 Commit your way to the LORD; trust in him and he will do this: 6 He will make your righteousness shine like the dawn,the justice of your cause like the noonday sun.
7 Be still before the LORD and wait patiently for him; do not fret when men succeed in their ways,when they carry out their wicked schemes.
8 Refrain from anger and turn from wrath;do not fret—it leads only to evil.
9 For evil men will be cut off, but those who hope in the LORD will inherit the land.
10 A little while, and the wicked will be no more;though you look for them, they will not be found.

Would you look at that? In just ten verses of the chapter, the Lord repeats “Do not fret” three times. Does that get your attention? Normally when something is repeated it should be given special ear or eye to. So, here we see it repeated three times. How much more important is it not to fret, i.e. worry.

Not to worry is basically to trust God no matter what, which leads me to the suggestion of my last post – Have Faith My Friends. This morning was browsing a few blogs and was led to search on what the Bible has to say about suffering. My search led me to Romans 5:3-5 which states:

3Not only so, but we also rejoice in our sufferings, because we know that suffering produces perseverance; 4perseverance, character; and character, hope. 5And hope does not disappoint us, because God has poured out his love into our hearts by the Holy Spirit, whom he has given us.
Now wait a minute did it just say REJOICE? Rejoice in suffering? Ah, so we aren’t supposed to fret/worry/complain but rather rejoice/praise God/trust Him/have faith. This should really bring a smile on your face when you face trials right? Well the hard part is being human or in Biblical words, having the flesh. We got to realise that the true joy only comes from Him, not by putting on a smiling face and acting happy – This is hypocrisy highly condemned by the Bible. So when we face trials, what are we to do? Pray… in some cases fast and pray. Then the Lord enters and accomplishes His will over your circumstance, will and/or doing.

I am not saying it was easy for me. I am just stating what God told me so. ’tis my duty to pass own His perfect advice, isn’t it? So, coming back to the message on the shoes (thought I forgot about it, didn’t you?)

So here are two particular places out of the Bible that talks of shoes:

Ephesians 6:15 — And your feet shod with the preparation of the gospel of peace

&

Deutronomy 33:24-25 — And of Asher he said, Let Asher be blessed with children; let him be acceptable to his brethren, and let him dip his foot in oil.25Thy shoes shall be iron and brass; and as thy days, so shall thy strength be.

So, Moses blessed the tribe of Asher with iron and brass shoes? What will they do with these shoes really? The answer is they can tread anywhere without slipping, falling, skidding, falling off course and hurting themselves.

Being a Christian is to walk on a path. So if we have the right shoes on (i.e. the Gospel, the Word of God, the Bible), we will be on the right path, albeit it be narrow (full of trials persecution and tribulation). So what you waiting for put on the right shoes and above all don’t fret/trust in God. He has promised that He will take care of everything on your behalf… yipee!!!

1 Samuel 2:9 He will guard the feet of His saints,
But the wicked shall be silent in darkness.
“For by strength no man shall prevail.10 The adversaries of the LORD shall be broken in pieces;
From heaven He will thunder against them.
The LORD will judge the ends of the earth…”

