Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


God has been speaking to me about something I never thought of – The tower of Babel I have built. I feel queasy about it even now as I write this. This is not going to be as my earlier posts and is going to be something far more personal. Once again if I have hurt anyone’s sentiments, I apologise.

Ever since I have been writing this piece on the mystery of Babylon a small voice inside  me always prodded me to check myself. This has intensified only to reveal to me that we all build our own towers of Babel. Without even noticing even many great men of God do so and then they fall with a huge thump in sight of all men. I have been reading a bit on Solomon, the human being, who had all the riches in the world, and was still not so happy with the glamourous life (I took a cue from the Books of Proverbs and Ecclesiastics). He was the man blessed with wisdom and yet he wrote in Ecclesiastics 1:18: For in much wisdom is much grief, And he who increases knowledge increases sorrow.

Bear with me a while, before I knit all the threads together. Let’s look at the general norm in most people these days. Even people as young as 13 and 14 thinking about their future in terms of money and success in form of acclaim. Everyone wants people to look up to them in pride and say – look at that person they have made it in life. As usual I make mention of the media with all its BLING! (I love the word ‘bling’ had to use it :P). All the Porches, Ferraris, Bentleys, Mercs and superbikes make my heart skip a beat. Not to mention all the mansions with swimming pools, the clothes from every big brand possible (even a handkerchief could mean one month’s salary), the glamour and more albeit very fake makes you want it more, because happiness seems to be a part of the package.

My view in life ever since I was a kid was to be accomplished in life. Accomplished would include fame and enough money so I could buy what I wanted. Much has not changed yet. I still desire good things in life and always dream of being on a cruise aboard my own ship without ever worrying about whether there would be enough to make sure the family doesn’t lack anything. Even right now I just spoke about having my own car to travel to work with a friend. Then we spoke about loans and EMIs and down-payments and more. I am ever in the danger of entering the rat race and the making money game (I am being honest here so please don’t point fingers at me it happens to everyone).

Ever heard a housewife crib – Oh they can do ministry because they don’t have kids to raise ( Mind you I have met people with kids and housework in heavy ministry – God always makes the way).Luke 10: 38 As Jesus and his disciples were on their way, he came to a village where a woman named Martha opened her home to him. 39She had a sister called Mary, who sat at the Lord’s feet listening to what he said. 40But Martha was distracted by all the preparations that had to be made. She came to him and asked, “Lord, don’t you care that my sister has left me to do the work by myself? Tell her to help me!” 41“Martha, Martha,” the Lord answered, “you are worried and upset about many things, 42but only one thing is needed. Mary has chosen what is better, and it will not be taken away from her.”

Then the work-a-holics – I have to put food on the table (umm I thought God has the provider… What is you lost your job or fell ill?).Matthew 6:33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself.

Youth – I’m too young to serve God. Ecc 12:1 – REMEMBER [earnestly] also your Creator [that you are not your own, but His property now] in the days of your youth, before the evil days come or the years draw near when you will say [of physical pleasures], I have no enjoyment in them…. and also Jeremiah, when God was calling Him – Jeremiah 1:6 Then said I, Ah, Lord God! Behold, I cannot speak, for I am only a youth. 7But the Lord said to me, Say not, I am only a youth; for you shall go to all to whom I shall send you, and whatever I command you, you shall speak. Be not afraid of them [their faces], for I am with you to deliver you, says the Lord. God said you serve me I will take care of the rest.

The old – You have wisdom and a lot of people look up to you. Why not use that for God’s glory. For as long as you have breath you can serve God. 1 Corinthians 10:33  So whether you eat or drink or whatever you do, do it all for the glory of God.

In general – What will people think of me? Luke 12: 10 “I tell you, whoever acknowledges me before men, the Son of Man will also acknowledge him before the angels of God. 9But he who disowns me before men will be disowned before the angels of God.

What if they kill me or hurt me for following Jesus? Luke 12:4  “I tell you, my friends, do not be afraid of those who kill the body and after that can do no more. 5But I will show you whom you should fear: Fear him who, after the killing of the body, has power to throw you into hell. Yes, I tell you, fear him.

If you can read what I have typed, you can serve God. But are you willing or are you one who says – No, wait God I have a little something to do first. Does that remind you of someone from the Bible?

Matthew 8:21 Another disciple said to him, “Lord, first let me go and bury my father.”

22But Jesus told him, “Follow me, and let the dead bury their own dead.”

In the beginning, this shocked me a bit. But then I realised that a lot of things we consider important may not really be that important if you consider the bigger picture. The fact is once a person is dead can you really do anything about the deceased? There are many living people who need you, are you going to ignore them? God’s call is to carry His message of salvation, that the sinners may make a choice to be free of sin through Jesus and to follow Jesus.

Follow Jesus = To deny self

Think about that – Denying oneself

Heres part of something I read recently

To follow someone means not taking the initiative, not suggesting a certain path and not challenging the direction you’re going.  My Way or the Highway!!!

1.  To follow Jesus means reaching out – Matthew 4:19 “Come, follow me,” Jesus said, “and I will make you fishers of men.”

2.  We must follow Jesus without hesitating – Matthew 9:9  As Jesus went on from there, he saw a man named Matthew sitting at the tax collector’s booth. “Follow me,” he told him, and Matthew got up and followed him.

3.  To follow Jesus means to deny yourself – Matthew 16:24 Then Jesus said to his disciples, “If anyone would come after me, he must deny himself and take up his cross and follow me.

4.  To follow Jesus means to let go of materialism – Matthew 19:21 Jesus answered, “If you want to be perfect, go, sell your possessions and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven. Then come, follow me.”

5.  To follow Jesus means to listen – John 10:27 My sheep listen to my voice; I know them, and they follow me.

6. To follow Jesus means to sacrificially serve Him – John 12:25-26 Whoever serves me must follow me; and where I am, my servant also will be. My Father will honor the one who serves me.

7. Playing it safe is not a part of being a follower! Being a follower is risky business!  It means loyal service to our Master no matter what He asks or where He leads!!

8.  To follow Jesus means to follow Him without getting distracted by other things or other people John 21:15-22 Jesus said this to indicate the kind of death by which Peter would glorify God. Then he said to him, “Follow me!” 21.  When Peter saw him, he asked, “Lord, what about him?” 22.  Jesus answered, “If I want him to remain alive until I return, what is that to you? You must follow me.”

“Let a man serve Christ where Christ has set him. As Jesus said to Peter: “Never mind the task that is given to someone else. Your job is to follow me.” That is what he still says to each one of us. Our glory is never in comparison with other men; our glory is the service of Christ in whatever capacity he has allotted to us.”

How many times have we said to Jesus “Lord what about him or her?”  All the time thinking we’re the ones making all the sacrifices and doing all the work!!  We allow others to distract us from following Jesus.  It is our vanity, our envy, our jealousy, our anger, and our frustration with other people who cause us to get off track.

Wow!! I figured I have been selfish, been thinking about my sacrifice. Have you? Well its your call. I have been a selfish person and asked God to wait. He calls me so earnestly everyday and I say, God wait I’m busy with… We always think – God will understand etc

NOW ITS TIME FOR YOU TO UNDERSTAND

He gave His life for us. Left luxury and heaven to walk in the dust and grime and walk amongst sinners. The King, He walked amongst us. And all you can think about is your daily routine? What if Jesus said I don’t want to die and instead He did not die for you? People of Christ wake up!! Stop shoving Him in a corner. Unless you raise Him up how will all men be drawn unto Him in your life? Old or young, tall or short, average or gorgeous, woman or man, employed or unemployed, mother or daughter or father or son or sister or brother or husband or wife, student or retired, and the list goes on so basically all you who live and breathe are called to follow Him.

SO GET OUT OF YOUR CHAIRS AND STOP BUILDING YOUR OWN TOWERS OR BUILDING YOUR OWN LIFE IT WILL TOPPLE AS THE TOWER OF BABEL.

This is the main message God has been speaking and I had to share this with you guys. Today a wonderful woman of God actually spoke to me about a dream she had about me and God spoke about a building and said the foundation of the building I am planning is weak. Who is my foundation? Has it been myself? Yes it has.

TIME TO MAKE YOUR FOUNDATION – THE ROCK THAT IS JESUS AND NOT THE SELF THAT IS You

Remember what Jesus said when He knew it was time to die for us?

Matthew 26:39 He went a little farther and fell on His face, and prayed, saying, “O My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me; nevertheless, not as I will, but as You will.

God forgive us for having things our way. Teach us to walk in your ways at all times.

