Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


If I would ask the question—have you felt a dry spell spiritually—to most Spirit-filled Christians, the honest answer would be yes. Even I to an extent have been going through a period of utmost longing. I feel unsatisfied with the way things are spiritually and I want more. I keep saying to myself, “There must be more than this.”

But in this time of dryness, there’s this thirst or hunger or desire I am feeling for the Lord that is likened to the desire one has for a lover. I have recognised this longing as equivalent to the longing I had for someone who I loved very much at one point of time. This time of awaiting to hear from Him has grown my desire for Him. He has become so real to me.

I now feel so intense and so intimate about Him that I even hear Him whisper sweet love messages 🙂 (all girls love it). I have heard Him say that He waits for me to empty myself to Him that He may fill me with something new. It’s definitely not good to mix something fresh with something stale. At the moment, I am uncomfortable with this emptying process. I literally feel like a sculpture being chiseled. But I’m loving it because the outcome would be out of this world. Cannot wait to see the finished work (I am very impatient)

There was a time when I would complain about this chiseling till I read:

Hebrews 11:35 Women received their dead raised to life again.
Others were tortured, not accepting deliverance, that they might obtain a better resurrection. 36 Still others had trial of mockings and scourgings, yes, and of chains and imprisonment. 37 They were stoned, they were sawn in two, were tempted,[f] were slain with the sword. They wandered about in sheepskins and goatskins, being destitute, afflicted, tormented— 38 of whom the world was not worthy. They wandered in deserts and mountains, in dens and caves of the earth.
39 And all these, having obtained a good testimony through faith, did not receive the promise, 40 God having provided something better for us, that they should not be made perfect apart from us.

The little trials I face are nothing compared to others who gave up their lives for the sake of the gospel of peace. The moment I start to worry I remember the example of Paul, who was flogged and beaten, but still persistently carried on. He was forsaken by his own people. I learnt that the only thing I need to do is love the Lord so passionately like I love no one else. Like a wife gives up all. I need to give up everything even if it means leaving my home, my family and changing my name. He gave His life for me, an unworthy creature. How much more do I owe Him? It does get difficult sometimes, and I still say, “Lord I am really tired today or Lord hang on I need to speak to so and so or else they will be angry.” Then the thought pricked me—what If Jesus made excuses? I would still be under the curse of the Law.  😦

I have heard many say that they would give up their life for a lover. But I know one thing for sure, besides Jesus no one so far has loved me as much. So if I serenade Him, don’t make fun of me because I am far wiser than the worldly lovers who whisper sweet nothings that mean nothing or are mostly untrue i.e., just words to impress the significant other. Now that I am learning to Love the Lord, it’s not so difficult to love others around. If He loves a stiff-necked, stubborn person like me who is ever tempted to slide to the dark side, how much more could I love others around me, especially those who have wronged me?

I encourage one and all in Christ, to love Him truly. More than ministry, more than church attendance, more than giftings, more than crusades and meetings, He is calling us to love Him. Once you love Him you want to please Him. To please Him you have to seek His Kingdom and Righteousness. The end result of seeking the Kingdom and Righteousness is that all things will be added unto us. So loving the Lord is the only way. It’s not so difficult to love Him once who realise who He is and what He did for you.



