Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,


Today, I am going to share something that I have been struggling with. Many of you know it as FEAR. For me fear is an entity in itself. I visualise it as a being that tries to steal all my peace and joy. I hate fear, it just wants to break me down. I really do not want it. I don’t want anything to do with it.

This morning, I realised that I am afraid of certain circumstances and even people in my life. Not because of anything else, but these would surely disturb my peace and try to steal away the good things of my life. God reminded me of the verse Proverbs 29:25:

The fear of man brings a snare,
But whoever trusts in the LORD shall be safe.

Then I questioned Him, “Lord why do I have fear in me today?” He answered, “Because you have no faith that I can work it out.” I was aghast, I did not realise how faithless I was, till the Lord shined His light on it. I prayed, “Help my little faith and forgive me.”

We all have times in our lives where the storm comes in and the wind blows and we suddenly get afraid. But thank God for the Holy Spirit, who points out when we are on verge of losing it. I thank God for His gentle reminder and a sure promise that He who commands the storm and the raging seas to cease is my Lord. Who is your Lord today? Is it the same Jesus who brings you peace, whose promises are yes and amen, who heals, who delivers, who makes every path straight, who works out all things for your good? Or is it fear ruling your life?

Matthew 14:25 Now in the fourth watch of the night Jesus went to them, walking on the sea. 26 And when the disciples saw Him walking on the sea, they were troubled, saying, “It is a ghost!” And they cried out for fear.
27 But immediately Jesus spoke to them, saying, “Be of good cheer! It is I; do not be afraid.”
28 And Peter answered Him and said, “Lord, if it is You, command me to come to You on the water.”
29 So He said, “Come.” And when Peter had come down out of the boat, he walked on the water to go to Jesus. 30 But when he saw that the wind was boisterous,[b] he was afraid; and beginning to sink he cried out, saying, “Lord, save me!”
31 And immediately Jesus stretched out His hand and caught him, and said to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” 32 And when they got into the boat, the wind ceased.

When you say that Jesus is King over your life, then you cannot give any place to fear or doubt. You just need to trust and believe. I leave you with the word of one of my favourite songs:

Still – Hillsongs

Hide me now
Under Your wings
Cover me
Within Your mighty hand

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with You above the storm
Father you are King over the flood
I will be still and know You are God

Find rest my soul
In Christ alone
Know His power
In quietness and trust

When the oceans rise and thunders roar
I will soar with You above the storm
Father You are king over the flood
I will be still and know You are God

 

 

